Child Support Enforcement in Virginia (Part A)There are two important issues that must be considered in a divorce that involves children: child custody and child support. Both parents owe their children a loving, stable home and the same financial support they would have received had there been no decision to divorce.
In a Virginia divorce, the custodial parent typically receives child support from the noncustodial parent. This support goes towards housing, food, clothing, schooling, day care, medical costs and other necessary expenses. The Virginia courts use statutory guidelines when determining the amount of child support that should be awarded.
If the noncustodial parent stops making child support payments, it can create a hardship for the custodial parent, as well as sacrifice the well-being of the child. Unfortunately, in Virginia, approximately 441,000 children are affected by deadbeat parents. The total amount of unpaid child support in Virginia is more than $2.1 billion. If you have recently found yourself in this position, you should know that there are laws regarding child support enforcement in Virginia.
To learn more about how to enforce child support, it would be in your best interest to consult with an experienced Virginia divorce attorney who understands Virginia child support laws. A skilled attorney can walk you through the steps to collect the child support payments that both you and your child are owed.
Virginia Child Support Enforcement
If your ex-husband is not making his court-ordered child support payments, you should contact the Virginia Department of Social Services Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE). This agency is responsible for collecting child support payments from deadbeat parents, and establishing paternity. In one year, DCSE was able to track down 145,862 noncustodial parents and collect more than $629 million.
If the noncustodial parent does not pay child support on time, DCSE will begin proceedings for Virginia child support enforcement. These proceedings are typically started when payments are 30 days past due. It may be a good idea to hire an experienced Virginia divorce attorney to help you through this process.
There are several ways that the DCSE can recover mandated Virginia child support. The first is income withholding, which means that money is automatically taken out of the noncustodial parent's paycheck for child support. Even if the parent gets another job or moves out of state, income withholding is still an option.
Continue to Next Page >>